NAVAROOPINI-Women In Navarasa


Rigveda declares the feminine energy of a Naari as the symbol of a most empowering force. This makes each phase in the life of a woman unique and extraordinary. Rasas are the anchor of all performing arts. Bharata Muni in Natyashastra describes 9 Rasas or Navarasas as the basis of all human emotions. In this production, the Navarasas have been portrayed by nine inspiring women of our glorious past on a musical background.
Sringara Rasa has been portrayed by Radhika, Adbhutam by Yashodha Maa, Veer Rasa by Rani Lakshmi Bai, Hasyam by Draupadi, Shantam by Meera Bai, Bhayam by Sita, Karuna Rasa by Gandhari, Bhivatsam by Putana and Raudra by Maa Durga. Together they make Navaroopini, the Women in Navarasa.

  • Sringara Rasa : Love shown between Radhika and Sree Krishna.
  • Adbhutam Rasa : Wonder and surprise shown by Yashodha Maa after seeing the universe in Sree Krishna’s mouth.
  • Veer Rasa : The heroic mood seen in Rani Lakshmi Bai.
  • Hasyam Rasa : Shown by Draupadi who let out a blood curdling laugh after justice had been done by Bhima.
  • Shantam Rasa : Peace and serenity shown by Meera Bai.
  • Bhayam Rasa : Terror shown by Sita when she was abducted by Ravana.
  • Karuna Rasa : Gandhari portrayed Karuna as she stood in the battlefield, surrounded by her dead sons.
  • Bhivatsam Rasa : Disgust shown by Putana when Krishna transformed her beautiful self to a horrific form.
  • Raudra Rasa : Anger shown by Maa Durga when Mahisasura was defeated.


Bengali Narration

Soumitra Chatterjee

English Narration

Raya Bhattacharyya

Bengali Script

Suvadeep Chakraborty

English Script

Soumi Sengupta

Music Director

Pt. Subhen Chatterjee

Dance Director

Jhinook Mukherjee Sinha